Skip to content

Lynn Horton and Alice Munro

May 28, 2015

Congratulations to Lynn Horton, member of our writing group, who placed top three in the Alice Munro Festival of the Short Story Writing Contest!

The ConteAMF_Logo_Colour-300x209st’s celebrity judge, author Lisa Moore, selected Lynn’s story, “Gamer,” from ten short-listed stories by emerging writers. The First Prize Award and Honourable mentions will be presented at the Jubilee Gala on Saturday, June 6 in Wingham, Ontario–Alice Munro’s home town. Lynn also receives two complimentary passes to the Gala and  keynote address by Lisa Moore. See the Festival’s Facebook page to follow the action!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Annie McGouran permalink
    June 8, 2015 10:46 am

    I attended the Alice Munro Festival and was present at the Gala dinner when Lynn read “Gamer”, a story with a compelling narrative voice. Congratulations Lynn on your inspiring achievement. This year’s shortlisted stories have definitely raised the bar for all of us working on short fiction.

    I am also writing to ask the Bathurst Muses if they would consider allowing a new member to participate by remote. I live in Collingwood where (alone in my tiny home office in the absence of a supportive tribe), I’m working on a collection of short stories I have just completed U of T Continuing Studies online Short Fiction course (moderated by Alyssa York) which entailed intensive workshopping of 20 short stories.

    If your group would consider my request for membership by remote, I would commit to providing timely, constructive feedback on your members’ works via Dropbox shared files (or email) and submit my draft stories for your group’s critique.

    I have been actively searching for a writing group for the past 10 years. I briefly chatted with Maureen (I hope I remember her name correctly) just before the Festival gala dinner. Her description of your group process suggests both dedication and rigor…qualities I am looking for in a writing group. I didn’t want to “stalk” your Toronto writing group while you were relaxing over dinner so I am approaching you now – with a mixture of humility and desperation.

    If you are at all open to this distance arrangement (I rarely visit Toronto since my husband and I moved to Collingwood in 2010), I could provide my writer’s bio and sample writings for your review. My short story ‘Double-Blind’ was shortlisted for the 2014 Eden Mills Writers’ Festival Literary Contest which encouraged me to persevere.

    Thank you for your consideration. Wishing you the best in all your writing endeavours.

    Annie McGouran
    Collingwood, Ontario

    • Valerie McDonald permalink
      June 11, 2015 3:59 pm

      Dear Annie,
      Thank you so much for your very thoughtful letter. By chance, we had one of our regular meetings on Monday, right after the Festival. I read your letter aloud and we all wished that you lived closer. You are clearly an accomplished writer and someone who would take the work we try to do very seriously. However, we have experimented with e-participation with some of our members when they are away and we have decided that it is not very satisfying–for the group or for the distant participant. For that reason, I’m afraid we cannot offer you “virtual membership.” I wonder if we could support you in finding a group or writing partner who is closer to home?
      Best wishes,
      Valerie McDonald

      • Anne McGouran permalink
        June 12, 2015 9:51 am

        Thank you for taking time to consider my request. I live in hope that my local library will eventually support an intentional writers’ circle.

        A quote from Mavis Gallant, one of my writing icons…”Journalism was recounting as exactly and economically as possible the weather in the street; fiction takes no notice of that particular weather but brings to life a distillation of all weathers, a climate of the mind.”

        With sincere wishes for continued inspiration.

        Annie McGouran

      • Valerie McDonald permalink
        June 12, 2015 11:27 am

        Hi Anne,
        Our library hosts writing groups, so perhaps yours will be inspired. One of our members knows of an existing on-line writing group and she is going to send you the name of it. Your message also inspired us to think about developing a workshop on starting and maintaining writing groups. We hope to pitch it to Festivals like the Alice Munro and perhaps Kingston. I like the quote!
        Cheers,
        Val

Leave a Reply

