Skip to content

Writer in Residence Program -Toronto Public Libraries

February 20, 2013

This past Saturday, I had the privilege of meeting with Alissa York, the current Writer in Residence at Toronto Public Libraries (TPL).  I had submitted a short story for her to review. A friendly librarian phoned last week to set up the meeting.

“Alissa York would be pleased to meet with you to discuss your story for 45 minutes,” she said.

For my part, I bought her novel Fauna (2010) to acquaint myself with her writing style. I particularly enjoyed the chapter told through the eyes of  Darius, a young boy whose teacher recognizes him as at-risk. Alissa York captured the words and thoughts of a young boy beautifully.

Alissa was gracious. She asked about my background, and if I was used to receiving comments on my work.

“No fear,” I replied.

I’m used to feedback. I’m taking courses in creative writing at the School for Continuing Studies—University of Toronto. For the next hour, we discussed my story. She provided thoughtful, relevant and detailed feedback.

Imagine a city where a published author is paid to meet with novice writers. How marvellous is that? If you are a beginner writer in Toronto, think about taking advantage of this program. I understand the next Writer in Residence will have a background in creative non-fiction.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Judy permalink
    February 20, 2013 7:25 am

    We live in a fabulous city!

Trackbacks

  1. Toronto Treasures for Writers | Bathurst Muses

Leave a Reply

