Skip to content

Why am I writing?

February 11, 2013

 

Some  people who actually make a living by the pen (I am in awe of those people)  have asked me why have I taken up writing all of sudden, or, at least, seemingly within the last three years. Did I write stories as a child?  I did not.  A journalist asked me, did I write for a student newspaper?  I did not.  Did I even keep a diary? No, I did not.  But having analyzed my motivations, I would like to offer a few explanations of why now, and also predict that these reasons may apply to others.

First, although I did not like writing stories  as a child, this did not mean I didn’t have ideas for stories.  I just didn’t like the physical act of hand-writing.

Second, in my career, I have completed a great deal of corporate writing, and while this is not considered creative writing, there is some wiggle-room for creativity.

Third, like many boomers, I have written newsletters and contributed to blogs for institutional intranets and internets.  These writing forms can be creative.

Fourth, the ability to type and use word processing software has allowed me to unleash my stories. What was once laborious, is now a pleasure. Writing out stories long hand is not a requirement for creative writing–although I remain in awe of those who can–if  it were, we would be denying many talented, manually challenged people the right to tell their stories.

Fifth, and probably the most important, I write, because I now have a number of stories to tell.  My hope is to tell them as well as possible.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Valerie McDonald permalink
    February 11, 2013 9:47 pm

    I’m glad your stories are being unleashed!

Leave a Reply

